Buying Guide — Laptop Stands
Best Laptop Stand for a 17-Inch Laptop
The short answer first: a 17-inch-class laptop is where stands quietly fail. Three of the four stands we've reviewed state a maximum that includes 17 inches, and one does not — and only one of the three states any headroom above 17. Here is the fit check in the order it should run, then how the four split. If your question is neck height rather than fit, start with our posture guide instead; if it is desk space, our small-desks guide runs that check.
Affiliate disclosure: Home Office Stack is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page — at no extra cost to you. Picks are research-based, grounded in manufacturer specs and published owner feedback; we don't accept sponsored placements.
Three checks, in order: stated size, weight, then the trade-off
First check: the stated maximum against your machine's actual size class. A “17-inch” laptop is a class, not a single footprint — machines sold under that label vary in footprint and in weight, so the number on the box is the start of the check, not the end of it. Measure or look up your own model's actual size, and check its weight too, before reading any stand's maximum as a fit. Across the four stands we have reviewed, the stated maximums split in a way that matters exactly here: the Lamicall Adjustable states up to 17.3 inches, the Rain Design iLevel 2 states up to 17 inches, the Lifelong Upryze states 10 to 17 inches, and the Amazon Basics states 15.6 inches. Three include 17; one does not.
Second check: weight capacity — and here the honest finding is an absence. Only one of the four publishes a weight limit in our catalog: the Amazon Basics, at 10 lb — and it is the stand whose size maximum stops at 15.6 inches. The Lamicall, the Rain Design iLevel 2 and the Lifelong Upryze state no weight limit in our catalog. That absence is itself a check, not a gap to fill in with an assumption: a heavy 17-inch gaming or workstation machine is exactly the case where an unstated limit matters most. We do not invent limits for the three, and you should not assume one either — judge your machine's actual weight against the fact that no stated capacity exists to judge it against, and weigh that uncertainty into the pick.
Third check: what the stand gives up to reach 17 inches. Reaching this size class costs each stand something different, and the costs are catalogued in their own reviews: one folds flat and travels, one does not fold at all, one only partially folds and is built for standing height, and the fold-flat favourite does not reach 17 inches at all. Height range and the wobble notes owners report when typing on the laptop itself complete the picture — those trade-offs, exactly as catalogued, are what separate the three stands that state a fit.
The four stands we've reviewed, compared on stated fit
| Lamicall Adjustable | The 17-inch headline pick — the only stated headroom above 17 | Up to 17.3 in laptops · widest stated maximum | Height 5.7–8.1 in · angle 45°–180° · folds flat |
| Rain Design iLevel 2 | The fixed seated-desk pick — exactly at the line | Up to 17 in laptops · no stated headroom · weight not specified | Front-slider height and tilt · does not fold · open airflow design |
| Lifelong Upryze | The standing-height pick — 17 is its ceiling | 10–17 in laptops · weight not specified | Up to 20 in lift · continuous knob adjustment · partially folds — legs only |
| Amazon Basics | The honest skip for this query — stops at 15.6 in | Up to 15.6 in laptops · 10 lb max — the only published weight limit | 6 levels, 3.5–6 in lift · folds flat |
Specs above are the manufacturers' figures as recorded in each stand's full review on this site. Read the size column as a stated maximum to check your own machine against — not as a promise that every laptop sold as 17-inch is the same size or weight.
The headline pick for 17 inches: Lamicall Adjustable Laptop Stand
The Lamicall leads this guide for one plain reason: it is the only reviewed stand that states headroom above 17 inches. Its stated maximum is 17.3 inches — the widest stated maximum of the four — so a 17-inch-class machine sits inside its range rather than exactly on its edge. The rest of its file suits a seated desk: height from 5.7 to 8.1 inches, screen angle adjustable from 45° to 180°, an aluminum alloy build that folds flat, and a stand weight of 2.1 lb. Its large weighted base is what owner feedback credits for it staying planted, and ventilation holes in the platform help airflow under the machine.
Fit check: it states no weight limit in our catalog, so the second check of this guide applies to it in full — a heavy 17-inch machine has no published capacity here to check against. Owners also note a bouncier feel typing on the laptop itself at taller settings, which is one more reason an external keyboard belongs in the setup. And skip it for standing height: its 5.7-to-8.1-inch range is a seated range, and the standing-height case belongs to the Upryze below.
The fixed seated-desk pick: Rain Design iLevel 2
The iLevel 2 states a maximum of up to 17 inches — a 17-inch laptop fits its stated range, but exactly at the line, with no stated headroom above it. What it offers in return is the smoothest in-day adjustment of the four: a patented front slider that adjusts height and tilt with the laptop still in place, in an aluminum alloy frame with an open airflow design. For a 17-inch laptop that lives on one fixed seated desk and gets reset during the day — for calls, posture shifts, or a shared desk — that slider is its reason to exist.
Fit check: exactly at the line means the first check matters most here — confirm your model's actual size class before treating 17 as a comfortable fit. Its maximum weight is not specified by the manufacturer, so the weight check is an absence here too. It does not fold, it has no VESA mount, and its range is a seated-desk range rather than a route to standing height.
The standing-height pick, only when standing is the goal: Lifelong Upryze Ergonomic
The Upryze states a range of 10 to 17 inches, so 17 inches is its ceiling — a 17-inch laptop is at the top of its stated range, not in the middle of it. Its reason to be in this guide is the one job the other stands do not do: it lifts up to 20 inches, toward standing eye level without a standing desk, with continuous knob adjustment, an aluminum and steel frame, and an open platform design. If standing-height lift is the actual goal for your 17-inch machine, this is the only reviewed stand built for it.
Fit check: pick it only when standing height is the actual goal — for a seated desk, its size and slower knob adjustment are more than the job requires. It states no weight limit in our catalog, it only partially folds (the legs fold; the tall frame remains), and owners note more wobble typing on the laptop itself at full height, so an external keyboard and mouse are practically mandatory at that height.
The honest skip for 17 inches: Amazon Basics Laptop Stand
The Amazon Basics is in this guide because it is the stand a 17-inch shopper is most likely to buy by mistake — the fold-flat favourite of our other laptop stand guides. Its stated limits are explicit, and both need reading honestly: laptops up to 15.6 inches, and a maximum of 10 lb. A 17-inch laptop is outside its stated size, so this guide does not present it as fitting one. For a laptop at or under 15.6 inches, its case stands as our full review makes it: six height levels from 3.5 to 6 inches, and a body that folds flat for a drawer or a laptop bag.
Fit check: this is also the one stand that publishes a weight limit — 10 lb — which is what makes the absence on the other three visible. A clear limit you can check is useful; it just does not change the size line. At 15.6 inches stated, a 17-inch machine is out, whatever it weighs.
When none of these is the right buy
If your machine measures above 17.3 inches, none of the four reviewed stands states a fit for it — the widest stated maximum in our coverage is the Lamicall at 17.3 inches, and rounding a larger machine down to a stated line is how stands fail quietly. And if the screen you actually work on is an external monitor rather than the laptop itself, the stand question is the wrong question: a monitor arm lifts that separate screen, and our laptop stand vs monitor arm guide works through which screen you own first, while our monitor arm guide runs the weight and VESA checks an arm needs. A stand is the right buy when the 17-inch laptop is the screen — and its stated maximum includes your machine.
17-inch laptop stand questions, answered honestly
Will a 17-inch laptop fit a stand rated to 17 inches exactly?
It is at the stated ceiling, with no stated headroom. The Rain Design iLevel 2 states a maximum of up to 17 inches and the Lifelong Upryze states a range of 10 to 17 inches, so a 17-inch laptop sits exactly at their line. Check your model's actual footprint and weight against that line rather than assuming, because 17-inch-class machines vary — and if you want stated headroom above 17, only the Lamicall Adjustable states it, at up to 17.3 inches.
Does laptop weight matter as much as size?
Yes — size says whether the laptop falls inside the stated range, and weight is a separate check against a stated capacity. Of the four stands we have reviewed, only the Amazon Basics publishes a weight limit, at 10 lb, and that stand stops at 15.6 inches for size. The Lamicall Adjustable, the Rain Design iLevel 2 and the Lifelong Upryze state no weight limit in our catalog, so for a heavy 17-inch gaming or workstation machine that absence is itself the check — do not assume a limit that is not stated.
Can I type on a 17-inch laptop while it's on a stand?
Use an external keyboard instead. Owners note a bouncier feel typing on the laptop itself at taller settings on the Lamicall Adjustable, and more wobble typing on the laptop at full height on the Lifelong Upryze. A raised laptop also puts its built-in keyboard at stand height, so an external keyboard is part of the setup — and it keeps typing movement off the stand.
Is a bigger laptop better on a monitor arm instead?
Sometimes, but they lift different screens. A monitor arm lifts a separate monitor, not the laptop itself, so it only answers the question if you work on an external monitor — our laptop stand vs monitor arm guide works through that fork, and our monitor arm guides run the weight and VESA checks an arm needs. If the 17-inch laptop is the screen you use, a stand that states a maximum including 17 inches is the direct fit, with the Lamicall Adjustable the only reviewed stand stating headroom above it, at 17.3 inches.
What if my laptop is 17.3 inches?
Only one reviewed stand states that size. The Lamicall Adjustable states a maximum of 17.3 inches; the Rain Design iLevel 2 states up to 17 inches, the Lifelong Upryze states 10 to 17 inches, and the Amazon Basics stops at 15.6 inches. A 17.3-inch machine is above those three stated maximums, so measure and check your model's actual size rather than rounding it down to 17.
Bottom Line
Check the stated line first, then the weight, then the trade-off
For most 17-inch laptops at a seated desk, take the Lamicall Adjustable — it is the only reviewed stand stating headroom above 17 inches, at 17.3. For a fixed seated desk where you adjust height mid-day, the Rain Design iLevel 2 fits at exactly 17 inches and earns its place with the front slider. The Lifelong Upryze is only for the standing-height case, with 17 inches at its ceiling. And let the Amazon Basics be what it is for smaller laptops — at a stated 15.6 inches, it is the honest skip for this one. Whichever you choose, pair it with an external keyboard and mouse. See all our laptop stand reviews or browse all desk gear.