Best Laptop Stand for Travel

The short answer first: travel is the harshest test a laptop stand can take, because a stand that works beautifully on one desk can fail completely in a bag. Two of the four stands we've reviewed fold flat. One only partially folds — its legs fold, but it never goes completely flat. And one does not fold at all, by design. Here are the three checks in order — does it actually fold flat, what does it add to what you carry, and does it still work when you arrive — then how the four split. For a fixed desk rather than a bag, start with our posture guide instead.

Updated October 2026 4 stands compared by fold, carry and destination fit No prices shown — they change too often

Affiliate disclosure: Home Office Stack is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page — at no extra cost to you. Picks are research-based, grounded in manufacturer specs and published owner feedback; we don't accept sponsored placements.

Check one: does it actually fold flat?

This check is binary, and it runs first because everything else is wasted on a stand that fails it. A travel stand has to go completely flat — flat enough to slide into a laptop bag alongside the laptop, and to set up again at the other end. Two fold flat: the Amazon Basics and the Lamicall Adjustable. One partially folds: the Lifelong Upryze, whose legs fold only — it does not go completely flat, and it needs storage space. And one does not fold at all: the Rain Design iLevel 2, a fixed ergonomic design built for a desk.

Partially folds is not a softer version of folds flat — it is a different job. A stand whose legs fold but whose frame stays three-dimensional can move between rooms, between homes, or in a car on a relocation. So read the Upryze here as a relocation stand, not a travel stand, and the iLevel 2 as no kind of portable at all — neither is a criticism of either stand at its own desk.

Folding flat also says nothing about folding easily. Owners describe the Amazon Basics folding and unfolding in seconds, with no tools and no loose parts. The Lamicall folds flat too, but its hinges are stiff by design: adjusting it takes two hands and real force, per owner reports and roundups. Both pass the fold check — with very different amounts of effort at each end of the trip.

Check two: what you carry — and what the catalog honestly does not say

Here is the honest finding first: only one of the four stands publishes its own weight in our catalog. The Lamicall states a stand weight of 2.1 lb. The Amazon Basics, the Lifelong Upryze and the Rain Design iLevel 2 state no stand weight in our catalog at all. We do not invent weights for the three, and you should not assume them either — an unstated weight cannot be checked, and that absence is itself part of this check. If a published carry weight decides your purchase, the Lamicall is the only one you can judge on it.

What can be judged for the others is folded bulk, qualitatively, exactly as catalogued. The Lamicall is bulkier folded than minimalist travel stands — its own review says so — because the large weighted base owners praise for its planted feel at a desk is also what travels with it. The Amazon Basics is catalogued as the drawer-and-bag stand, with no weight figure attached to that routine. The Upryze needs storage space, and the iLevel 2 keeps a fixed desk stand's full footprint.

So the carry decision is really about frequency. The Lamicall's catalog framing suits desk-first users and an occasional trip, where the destination desk earns the extra bulk. For a stand carried daily, only the Amazon Basics is described by owners in that bag routine — with its weight theirs to discover, not ours to state. Judge the known against the unknown honestly: an unstated weight is not a light one.

Check three: does it still work at the destination?

A stand that travels perfectly and lifts badly has only done half the job. The destination checks are height range and stated laptop-size ceiling, applied to a desk you do not control. On height: the Amazon Basics gives six preset levels from 3.5 to 6 inches; the Lamicall gives 5.7 to 8.1 inches with angle adjustable from 45° to 180°; the Upryze lifts up to 20 inches, far beyond a seated desk; and the iLevel 2 adjusts height and tilt by its front slider, a seated-desk mechanism. On stated size: up to 15.6 inches on the Amazon Basics, up to 17.3 inches on the Lamicall, 10 to 17 inches on the Upryze, and up to 17 inches on the iLevel 2. Our 17-inch laptop stand guide runs that size check in full.

Then the caveat that decides whether any of them works in practice: a raised laptop needs an external keyboard and mouse. Every stand lifts the built-in keyboard along with the screen, so typing on the raised machine puts your hands at stand height — and owners feel it: a bouncier feel at taller settings on the Lamicall, wobble typing at full height on the Upryze. Packing a stand without a keyboard is packing half a setup, so budget bag space for both.

The four stands we've reviewed, compared for travel

Amazon Basics Laptop Stand The travel pick — folds flat, the bag routine owners describe Folds flat · 6 levels, 3.5–6 in · laptops up to 15.6 in · 10 lb max Aluminum alloy · open airflow design · stand weight not stated in our catalog
Lamicall Adjustable Laptop Stand The conditional pick — for larger laptops, when the destination desk matters more than bag weight Folds flat · height 5.7–8.1 in · angle 45°–180° · laptops up to 17.3 in Aluminum alloy · stand weight 2.1 lb · large weighted base · bulkier folded
Lifelong Upryze Ergonomic The relocation pick — moves between rooms and homes, not a laptop-bag stand Partially folds — legs only · lifts up to 20 in · laptops 10–17 in Aluminum and steel · continuous knob adjustment · stand weight not stated in our catalog
Rain Design iLevel 2 The honest skip for travel — a fixed desk stand, and a good one Does not fold · front slider adjusts height and tilt · laptops up to 17 in Fixed ergonomic design · open airflow · stand weight not stated in our catalog

Specs above are the manufacturers' figures as recorded in each stand's full review on this site. Read the table's honest shape: the fold splits the four before anything else does, only one stand publishes the weight you would carry, and the size ceilings decide which folder is even available to your laptop.


The travel pick: Amazon Basics Laptop Stand

Amazon Basics laptop stand

The Amazon Basics is the travel pick because it is the folder owners actually describe living in a bag. The aluminum alloy frame folds flat, with no tools and no loose parts, and owner feedback describes it moving between a home desk, a drawer and a laptop bag as one routine. At the destination it gives six height levels from 3.5 to 6 inches for laptops up to 15.6 inches, with a stated maximum weight of 10 lb, an open airflow design, and silicone pads and front hooks. Owners consistently report a steady, no-wobble hold at normal typing speeds.

Fit check: three honest limits. Its own weight is not stated in our catalog, so the carry check runs on owner routine rather than a figure. It feels least planted at its highest setting, and changing levels takes two hands, in preset steps. And the 15.6-inch ceiling is hard: a larger laptop is outside this stand however well it travels. Inside that ceiling, this is the simplest travel answer we review.

Check price on Amazon →  Read our full review →


The conditional pick, for larger laptops: Lamicall Adjustable Laptop Stand

Lamicall adjustable laptop stand

The Lamicall is the conditional pick: choose it when your laptop is larger, or when the desk at the destination matters more than what the bag weighs. It folds flat — but it states a maximum of up to 17.3 inches, the widest of the four, with height from 5.7 to 8.1 inches and angle adjustable from 45° to 180°. It is also the only reviewed stand that publishes its own weight: 2.1 lb, on a large weighted base — the base owners praise for the planted feel at a desk. Its ventilation holes help airflow under the machine.

Fit check: the conditions are in the carry. It is bulkier folded than minimalist travel stands, and the large base is bag bulk as well as desk stability. Its stiff hinges take two hands and real force to adjust, and owners note a bouncier feel typing on the laptop itself at taller settings — one more reason the external keyboard travels with it. Treat it as a desk stand that sometimes travels, not a daily folder.

Check price on Amazon →  Read our full review →


The relocation pick, not a travel pick: Lifelong Upryze Ergonomic

Lifelong Upryze ergonomic laptop stand

The Upryze is in this guide to be placed honestly: it partially folds — its legs fold only — and it does not go completely flat, so it needs storage space rather than sliding into a laptop bag. That makes it a relocation stand: it moves between rooms, or between homes, when you are setting up somewhere for a while. What it offers at that destination is lift nothing else here approaches — up to 20 inches, toward standing eye level, for laptops from 10 to 17 inches, with continuous knob adjustment in an aluminum and steel frame.

Fit check: do not buy it as a bag stand — partially folds is the whole verdict there. The knob adjustment is slower than the folders' steps and hinges, its own weight is not stated in our catalog, and owners note wobble typing on the laptop itself at full height, so an external keyboard and mouse are practically mandatory at the heights it exists for.

Check price on Amazon →  Read our full review →


The honest skip for travel: Rain Design iLevel 2

Rain Design iLevel 2 laptop stand

The iLevel 2 does not fold. It is a fixed ergonomic design, desk-only — in this guide because a travel shopper comparing stands on lift and finish alone could buy it by mistake. Nothing about it travels: no fold, no flat state. What it does instead is the fixed-desk job better than any folder here: a patented front slider adjusts height and tilt with the laptop still in place, for laptops up to 17 inches, in an open airflow design owners describe as sturdy once set. Its case is the fixed desk, explicitly not travel.

Fit check: if your stand will live on one seated desk and be reset during the day — for calls, posture shifts, or a shared desk — that slider is a genuine reason to choose it over both folders, and our full review makes that case. For travel, though, this is the skip, stated plainly.

Check price on Amazon →  Read our full review →


When none of these four is the right travel buy

A laptop above 17.3 inches rules out every stand we review, folding or not — the Lamicall states the widest maximum, and rounding a larger machine down to a stated line is how stands fail quietly. A daily commute with a published, minimal carry weight as the deciding factor rules them out too: only the Lamicall publishes a stand weight at all, at 2.1 lb, and it is the bulkier folder of the two — so if a verified light weight is the purchase, shop beyond this catalog on the same three checks, and insist on a stated weight.

The other honest exit is a trip that is not really a trip. If you are relocating for weeks and want standing height at the far end, the Upryze's partial fold is a transport compromise worth making — in a car, with storage waiting. And if the stand will barely leave one desk, travel is the wrong frame entirely: our posture guide chooses among the same four by height.


Travel laptop stand questions, answered honestly

What makes a laptop stand a travel stand?

A travel stand folds flat, so it slides into a laptop bag and sets up again without tools or loose parts. Of the four stands we review, two pass that test: the Amazon Basics and the Lamicall Adjustable. The Lifelong Upryze only partially folds — its legs fold, but the stand does not go completely flat and needs storage space — and the Rain Design iLevel 2 does not fold at all. Folding flat is the entry ticket; what you carry and what works at the destination decide between the two that have it.

Is the fold-flat stand also the best desk stand?

Not automatically. Folding flat answers the bag question, not the desk question. At a fixed desk, the Rain Design iLevel 2 — the stand that never travels — adjusts height and tilt with its patented front slider while the laptop stays in place, which neither folder matches for in-day adjustment. The Lamicall is the folder that splits the difference: it folds flat, but its large weighted base and 5.7 to 8.1 inch height range are built desk-first.

Can I travel with a stand for a 17-inch laptop?

Yes, with one reviewed option. The Lamicall Adjustable folds flat and states a maximum of up to 17.3 inches, so it is the only reviewed stand that both travels and states headroom above 17 inches. It is also the only reviewed stand that publishes its own weight, at 2.1 lb, and it is bulkier folded than minimalist travel stands, with a large base. The Amazon Basics folds flat too, but stops at 15.6 inches, so a 17-inch laptop is outside its stated size.

Do I need an external keyboard and mouse when travelling with a stand?

For anything beyond a short session, yes. Every stand here lifts the laptop's built-in keyboard along with its screen, so typing on the raised machine puts your hands at stand height. Owners report the pattern stand by stand: a steady hold at normal typing speeds on the Amazon Basics, a bouncier feel at taller settings on the Lamicall, and wobble typing at full height on the Lifelong Upryze. An external keyboard and mouse keep typing movement off the stand — pack them as part of the travel setup.

What if my laptop is over 15.6 inches?

Then the travel pick changes, because the Amazon Basics states a maximum of 15.6 inches and a larger machine is outside it. The Lamicall Adjustable is the reviewed folder that still fits: it folds flat and states up to 17.3 inches. Above 17.3 inches, none of the four stands we review states a fit, folding or not — the Rain Design iLevel 2 stops at 17 inches and does not fold, and the Lifelong Upryze states 10 to 17 inches and only partially folds.

Fold first, carry second, destination third

Run the checks in order: completely flat, or it is not a travel stand; then what it adds to your bag, on stated evidence rather than assumed weight; then height, size ceiling and an external keyboard at the destination. For most laptops up to 15.6 inches, take the Amazon Basics — the folder owners actually carry. For a laptop up to 17.3 inches, or a destination desk that matters more than bag weight, take the Lamicall Adjustable at its published 2.1 lb. The Lifelong Upryze is the relocation stand, and the Rain Design iLevel 2 is the fixed-desk stand — neither of them a bag stand. Our small-desks guide runs the same fold check for desks with a second job after hours. See all our laptop stand reviews or browse all desk gear.